The Cyril Kett Museum and Archive, located in the Australian College of Optometry building in Carlton, Melbourne, has formed a ‘Friends of the Kett Museum Group’.
The aim is to enable the Kett Museum to communicate with people who have an interest in optometric history, showcase its collection and gain from the knowledge about optometric history that exists in the community.
The Kett Museum is named in honour of Cyril Henry Woodford Kett FBOA FSMC (1890 – 1970) who was one of the five people who signed the Memorandum and Articles of Association of the Australian College of Optometry in 1939. The museum contains books, instruments, spectacles, photographs, paintings, archival papers and objects relating to the history of optometry and optometric education that date from the 17th century. To make the history more accessible, the Museum recently embarked on the construction of new display area.
Membership to Friends of the Kett Museum is free. There is no need to be an optometrist to gain membership and there are no responsibilities. Members will receive a quarterly newsletter and invitations to occasional social functions and guided tours, during which presentations will be made on items within the Museum’s collections.
Complete the form here to express interest in joining Friends of the Kett Museum.